Two Places Called Home

Malawi and Peru – where I am from – have many similarities: beautiful landscapes, friendly people, tasty food, nice weather (although not as of late because of the winter weather), and so on. So when I got here, I really felt like home and my adaption was instant.
However, I never predicted an even warmer treat when I started my fieldwork in the villages. I also witnessed contrasting realities in these places. Comparing to Blantyre city, where my host organization is based, people are dramatically poorer. I remember interviewing a woman, who is the herbalist of her village, who declared that her incomes were around 25 pounds per year. She lives alone with her 3 children who are studying in primary school. She and her family can survive from the livestock activity and some remittance, but the incomes declared are the only “safe” entrance. On the other hand, in despite of their poverty, people never lose the hope and hold a positive attitude towards life. I remember to have been invited more than one time to have a meal when I was still interviewing during lunch time; it reflects that people are willing to give in despite of their limitations.

fieldwork- Malawi A welcome song

A welcome song

I also remember being welcomed in particular ways when I arrived to the villages to do my interviews. People welcome visitors with cheerful songs in Chichewa, sung in groups. When I used to travel from one village to other, people – especially kids – would wave along the roadside almost all the time, in signal of welcome.

The stories told above demonstrated that the “Warm heart of Africa” slogan is not by chance: Malawi is actually a special country because of its people, who in despite of the adversity, are an example of constant effort for survival and at the same time, of hope and cordial attitude towards life.

fieldwork- Malawi 131

Victoria Perfecto has been working with Malawi Environmental Endowment Trust.

 

3 responses to “Two Places Called Home

  1. great blog Victoria! Did you make it to Mulanje Mountain? I’ve heard people say the landscape on the mountain is similar to South America. But then again people also say its like Scotland – so perhaps a bit of all three countries! Hope you have a great final couple of days and look forward to catching up with you when you return.

  2. Hi! Actually is true! My visit to Mulanje made me to remember some parts of the Peruvian jungle and the highlands in Scotland….I also had the chance to visit Mangochi, it has beautiful beaches 🙂

  3. And you’ll always have a home away from home Victoria! I’m glad you managed to see a bit more of Malawi too 🙂

Leave a comment